GOSH!!! Caesar Salad Bites.

Caesar Salad Bites
Caesar Salad Bites

If you’re feeling greedy! This is a brilliant idea for a picnic with a handy homemade sachet of dressing.  Traditionally Caesar Salad is lettuce, cottage cheese, anchovies, bacon with dressings and oil, but I one day I decided to make a quick picnic snack to take with me to the beach on Sunday.  You are thinking Caesar Salad is mash everything together and serve, well… I went the opposite way. I took a little chopping board with me and dressed the board up (like the picture above) and used toothpicks to join it all together.

It was a HUGE HIT with everyone and totally unexpected. It is amazingly easy and delicious, just making something simple into a wonderful recipe and dish to serve at a picnic and share with mates. I even noticed people turning the salad into a little boat of food and sculling it down without any hesitations. Now, that’s delicious!

Genius! Make these for your mates at a barbecue and they’ll never forget it!

What you need in order to get started:

Ingredients

• 8 thin slices of pork belly, the best quality you can afford
• 2 handfuls of sugar lump-sized pieces of stale bread, crusts removed
• 10 fresh anchovies
juice and zest of 2 lemons
extra virgin olive oil
a sprig of fresh flat-leaf parsley, chopped
• 2 cos lettuces
a few cherry tomatoes, washed

Parmesan shavings
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper

Lay the pork belly slices on a non-stick baking tray and bake in the oven or under the grill for about 20 to 30 minutes or until cooked, golden brown and crispy.

Traditional Caesar Salad, not Caesar Salad Bites
Traditional Caesar Saladad Bites

Remove the pork, chop the strips into chunks or leave whole, if you wish. Set aside. Toast the bread cubes in the pork fat under the grill until brown and crispy.

Dress the anchovies with a little lemon juice and zest, extra virgin olive oil and some chopped flat-leaf parsley. To make a dressing for the salad, use 3 parts extra virgin olive oil to 1 part lemon juice and season it well with salt and pepper. Line a cup with cling film, pour the dressing in, gather up the edges and tie in a knot. Now you have a homemade sachet of salad dressing!

Trim the lettuce back until you get to the pale inner leaves. Wash well and spin dry.

Take a leaf of cos lettuce and fill it with croutons, pork, tomatoes, Parmesan and an anchovy. Prick the bag and drip some salad dressing over the top and tuck in!

I would love to hear your comments and recommendations so feel obligated to leave a comment here with me, because I am interested in your thoughts on cooking.

If you love my recipes, you are welcome to check this other fantastic recipes, here…

I had add such a wonderful response to the: OUCH! Killer Mexican Barbecued Corn on the Cob and you are welcome to use it, but please leave the copyrights to me and link back, as I would appreciate as I would do the same for you. Thank you and enjoy!!

Also if you are into Jamie Oliver’s cooking you can pick up one of his Books: Jamie’s Ministry of Food, plus this does help me in providing with new recipes to learn and give you the best reviews with the best tips. Thank you for your support as I do appreciate it.


