Rice Deal. Can you cook fluffy perfection?

A Cambodian woman wearing a conical hat to kee...
Image via Wikipedia

I love to cook. I to share new recipes.

Now, I have been asked about fluffy rice from time-to-time and I thought it is important to share with you, on exactly how it can be easily achieved. No extra huff and gruff. Just practice and love!

Firstly, lets begin…

Rinsing rice your rice
Rinsing rice your rice

Rinse the Rice

Rice needs to be washed. It removes any starch and impurities. Rinse until the water is clear and not cloudy (see image).

Raw, uncooked Rice
Raw, uncooked Rice

Combine long grain rice and water.

For every cup of long grain rice, add 1 1/2 cups water.

Boil Rice
Boil Rice

Boil the Rice

Bring the rice to a boil, uncovered, at medium heat.

Place the lid on the pot, tilting it.
Place the lid on the pot, tilting it.

Turn Down the Heat, Place the Lid at an Angle

When the rice is boiling, turn the heat down to medium low. Place the lid on the pot, tilting it to allow steam to escape.

Cooking Rice forms holes
Cooking Rice forms holes

Look for “Craters”

After the rice has been cooking for a few minutes, check for holes or “craters.”

Put the lid on tight.
Put the lid on tight.

Put the Lid on Tight

When you can see the holes or craters, put the lid on tight. Turn the heat down to low.

Serve and Fluff with a fork
Serve and Fluff with a fork

Simmer, Fluff and Serve

Simmer the covered rice for another 15 minutes. Fluff it up with a fork and serve hot!

Also, I want to share with you on video how to cook rice… Check out the video and let me know what you think. I love to hear you comments. Come and share with me..!

Check out my other topic relating to Rice:

