Be a Better You in 365 Days Challenge – DAY 32 Connect With Friends

Be a Better You in 365 Days Challenge – DAY 32 Connect With Friends

This is Day 32 of How to Be a Better Person in 365 Days (365 Challenge) October 2011 Challenge. View list of tasks: 365 Challenge Overview

Welcome to Day 30 of “How to Become a Better Person in 365 Days Challenge” (365 Challenge)!

Today, Day 32 with Connecting with our Friends  – our second 30 days of the challenge. CONGRATULATIONS!!! You have finished your first 30 days of the challenge and we need your feedback.

Sometimes, when life is busy and our schedules cramped; we forget “Friendship is not about finding similarities, it is about respecting differences. You are not my friend coz you are like me, but because I accept you and respect you the way you are. “

In life, whether we are single, married, divorce or never had a relationship before we need friends even if there are the wrong one. So, how do we find the right ones at the right time? I remember coming across a post about friends and how to find friends who do the same things as you. I remember beginning pointed out that its hard to make friends or even find them in places /activities that you do.  So today, I thought it best to connect with friends that are in your present and/past life to really get to know them and what their been doing since you last spoke.

“Friendship is a form of interpersonal relationship generally considered to be closer than association, although there is a range of degrees of intimacy in both friendships and associations.” – From Wikipedia

Day 32 – Connecting with Friends

Today’s task is about a group of people close to our hearts. It’s our friends.
 

“When it hurts to look back, and you’re scared to look ahead, you can look beside you and your best friend will be there.”

Have you ever thought how life will be like without friends? For sure, it’ll definitely be different from how we know it. Imagine a life of solitude, without someone to share the joy of living with. Imagine having no one to celebrate life’s victories and achievements. Imagine not having someone to confide in during the times when we’re down and out. Imagine living life, day in, day out, without any interactions with the external world.

I consider myself to be open, private with personal life, independent and reserved person, especially with my opinions that I am not passionate about. My Dad always says: “Practice what you Preach”. My personal place is very important to me. Having quite, alone time is something I value a lot. I love times, when I am with myself, reflecting, reading, writing, enjoying the nice walk in park and thinking. Maybe I am just an old romantic but friends are important to me. They’re my companions in life’s journey, enabling me to understand more about myself, to grow, and to become a better person. They make life even more fun than it is. And even though we may not contact each other on a daily basis, we know that we’ll always be there to support each other, no matter what happens.

This is why today’s task is all about our friends. Has there been any friend that you haven’t talked to, or met up with recently? Is it time for a catch-up or meet-up? Our friends are precious, and we crossed paths for a reason. I like to see our friends as soul mates here to help each other in our life’s journey. They help us to bring the best out of ourselves and it’s up to us to nurture and foster the relationship. Today, we’re going to connect with our friends.

Your Task

Part 1: Call a Friend / Meet-Up

The first part of the task involves connecting with a friend on a meaningful level.

Pick a friend you’d like to connect / reconnect today. It can be a best friend you’ve not caught up with in a while, or good friend whom you’ve drifted from, or a regular friend you’d like to know better.

Drop this friend a call. While he/she might be caught off guard, I’m sure he/she will be glad to get your call! Take the chance to catch-up! Check on how life has been like for him/her, what he/she has been busy with, and what’s been going on.

As he/she talks, be present. Enjoy the conversation as is. At the same time, reciprocate – Share about yourself too. Focus on a heart-to-heart, authentic communication.

See if you can learn something new about your friend during the conversation. Ask questions that you normally don’t ask. Get to know him/her on a whole new level. No matter how close you are with someone, there is always room to progress the friendship.

At the end of the conversation, see if you want to schedule a meet-up with both of you, or a get-together with other friends (if you have common friends).

Part 2: Reach Out To Other Friends

After connecting with your friend, continue on to connect/reconnect with other friends too. Email, text them, call them. Check on how they’re doing and schedule meet-ups with them. If you have several common friends, start a group meet-up even! That’s a great way to get many people together and catch-up as a group.

This is a great opportunity to re-establish connection with “lost” friends from the past. Seek them out on Facebook! Nowadays almost everyone uses FB. Through FB, I’ve reconnected with quite a number of past friends in the past few years (even from Primary School, when we’ve lost touch afterwards!), and it’s great to see everyone each pursuing their life.

Day 29 Reflection for 365 Challenge

  1. Is there anything you learned today?
  2. If so, what is it? Write it down.

Share Your Answers!

I will be updating the 365 Challenge Gift shortly and will be available. As everyone will be going into the draw to win a prize that will be delivered directly to your door!

All the Best, Ezzy ♥ ♥

3 thoughts on “Be a Better You in 365 Days Challenge – DAY 32 Connect With Friends

  1. Hi Everyone!
    Today was brilliant. I reconnected with my best friend, made pancakes for late breakfast (just heavenly), worked on work together and enjoyed each others company. We got SO much done! I was still able to enjoy today’s task and be with someone I care about. Amazing!

    Honestly, I thought today’s task “Connecting With Friends” would be a hard challenge because I didn’t know who to call, when to call, (I get nervous making calls as I get too excited and cannot contain it 🙂 ) and the next question was: “What to do?” and “Would they like it?”

    Over the years, I have learnt just to go with the follow and not be fussy. I like being this way to be neutral but sometimes, my friends don’t like it due to the fact I can be TOO EASY GOING as in “I’m not too picky about the venue, but where would you like to go?” This usually goes around the circle for a minute and then comes back to me… It can be annoying for my friend(s) and me! So, being neutral is not a bad thing, it can help to level the field of doing what they like and doing what you like. Personally, I rather just hang with a friend and be there for them – especially if I owe them something big.

    Now, onto the task:
    Part 1 – I gave my best friend a call and asked: “Would you like a late breakfast with me? I have pancakes on.” She drove over here so quick it surprised me when I was putting all the ingredients on the bench to start cooking.
    I also got a message from a friend on Facebook about wanting to catch up and tomorrow I am going to watch the Movie “Drive” and have lunch near the cinemas. AWESOME!

    Part 2 – I think the last part (see above) is included in Part 1 and 2. So the task for me was quite amazing and easy. But, I did reach out to other friends via Facebook and have a Buffy night, which I think is the best Tv series to date – just my 2 cents!

    Reflection: Reaching out to friends is a great way to connect, feel alive, feel as though you have a purpose and friends. It is always good to reach out and see the evidence of your touch. I believe the you get what you put out. If you want to connect with someone, there will be someone there to connect with, even if its a quick smile on the street, or making a quick phone to someone who just wants to hear your voice and know you are well. ♥ ♥ EzzY

Comments are closed.